Finalists announced for the 2020 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards

Volunteering Tasmania is delighted to announce the finalists of the 2020 Tasmanian Volunteering Awards.

We would like to acknowledge all the nominations we received, and thank every nominator for their efforts. All nominations were of the highest calibre.

Even the difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic has not stopped a flood of nominations. We received 135 nominations across 10 Award categories, showcasing the many and diverse ways in which Tasmanians of all age groups contribute to our community through the volunteer work they undertake selflessly and in the spirit of giving and helping others.

The judging panels had the difficult task of identifying the finalists in each award category, with a maximum of three finalists per Award category.

All individual nominees and nominated programs will receive a Certificate of Appreciation.

Volunteering Tasmania looks forward to being able to announce the winners in each category later this year, with more details on the postponed Awards Ceremony to be revealed in the coming months.


The finalists are: (in alphabetical order)

Anglicare Tasmania Community Care and Health Volunteer Award

Diane Reynoldson | AK Young Women’s Shelter, CatholicCare Tasmania

Ken Harris | Skin Cancer Tasmania

Nada Hanna | Migrant Resource Centre Tasmania

AON Environment, Animal Care and Conservation Volunteer Award

Paul Thomas | Friends of Randalls Bay Coastcare

Sue Jennings | Circular Head Landcare Group

Toby Thorpe | Tasmanian Climate Leaders

Aurora Energy Lifetime Achievement Volunteer Award

Barb Philips | Calvary Health Care Tasmania

Christine Knight | Calvary Health Care Tasmania

John Thorne | Rotary Club of North Hobart

CatholicCare Tasmania Volunteer Program of the Year Award   

Chats Program

Give Back Program

The Fairy Godmothers 

Hydro Tasmania Excellence Award for Best Practice in Volunteer Management

Kate Dostalek | Migrant Resource Centre of Tasmania

Rebecca Woolley | CatholicCare Tasmania

Rhianna Airey | Clarence City Council

Lifeline Tasmania Emergency Services Volunteer Award    

Kelvin Jones | Glamorgan Spring Bay State Emergency Services

James Smith | Tasmania Fire Service

Stephanie Bourne | Ambulance Tasmania

Local Government Association of Tasmania Corporate and Civic Volunteer Award

Hazell Bros

Hydro Tasmania

Spirit of Tasmania Arts, Heritage, Tourism and Events Volunteer Award

Jasmine Power | Tasmanian Parks and Wildlife – Discovery Ranger Program

Lynda Jeffery | The Australasian Golf Museum

Lyndal Thorne | Burnie Arts Council

Tasplan Super Education, Science and Technology Volunteer Award

Julie Martens | The Smith Family

Peter Crosthwaite | Libraries Tasmania

Xiaoxiao Xu | The Story Island Project Tasmania

VIRA Service Groups, Sport and Recreation Volunteer Award

Else Phillips | Rotary Club of Kingston

Meg Cooper | Down Syndrome Tasmania

Michael Griffiths | Judo Tasmania


For more information about our finalists please keep an eye out on the Awards page of our website and follow us on social media over the coming weeks and months!